peach cobbler

First, YUUUUUMMMMMMM!  This peach cobbler was one of the first food blog recipes I ever tried.  Last summer I found a version, using nectarines and cream, over at Joy the Baker.  I’d never made cobbler before, probably never even eaten it.  But it just looked so easy and I had some peaches on hand, so I thought, why not?  Thank goodness the stars were aligned.  There are so many varieties, are all cobblers this good?  I’m thinking that this one’s brown butter is what sends it over the top. (I wonder if it’d be wrong to drink brown butter from a sauce pan…yeah, that’d be wrong.)  I actually made this half peach and half blueberry.  It’s oh-so-customizable.  Andrew loves fruit desserts and this is super easy, so I’m sure we’ll be enjoying this in many varieties throughout our long and happy lives together.  Right, honey?;)  Happy Father’s Day! xoxo

Score – 9.5

Yields 6 (generous) Servings (Calorie estimate: 450/serving)

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup all purpose flour

1 Tablespoon baking powder

3/4 cup milk (low-fat is fine)

3 cups sliced fresh peaches, peels included

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Melt the butter in a medium saute pan set over medium high heat until it bubbles and turns a but-brown color.  Watch the butter closely, as it can go from browned to burned in a few seconds.  Pour the butter into an 8-inch-square baking dish.  In a medium bowl, stir together the white sugar, flour, baking powder, and milk.  Pour the milk mixture on top of the melted butter.  Do no stir. Without mixing, arrange the peaches evenly on top of the batter.  Evenly sprinkle the brown sugar over the cobbler.

Bake the cobbler for 40 or 45 minutes, until the top turns golden brown.  Serve warm with ice cream or fresh cream if desired.

Note:  This version is from the its original source The Pastry Queen.  I’ve tried a couple of her recipes now and wow!  Not only must I have that book, I’m thinking I’d better go ahead move on down to Texas.

I admit, I made the cobbler in an 8×8 but set aside this small portion to bake separately and take a prettier picture.  Then I ate it.

1 Response to “peach cobbler”


  1. 1 Joanne June 21, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I love cobblers! Okay I love any fruit-filled dessert that is baked in an oven. But especially cobblers. These look crazy delicious!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 416 other followers