pistachio cupcakes

These cupcakes are delicious, incredibly moist (which is mostly likely attributed to the full cup of oil), and embarrassingly easy to make. It’s a little tough to get these cupcakes to look lovely due to the nature of the frosting, but seriously, every time I make these cupcakes, people’s reaction never fails to disappoint–the phrase “Best cupcake I’ve ever had!” has been used more than once. 

This recipe also works well (maybe even better) as a bundt cake.

Yields 24 (Calorie estimate: 250/cupcake)

1 pkg white cake mix
1 pkg instant pistachio pudding mix
1 c. oil
3 eggs
1 c. club soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients and beat at medium speed for about 5 minutes. Pour batter into cupcake tins and bake for 18-22 minutes.

Frosting

2 envelopes Dream Whip (in baking aisle)
1 1/4 c. cold milk (at least 2%)
1 pkg instant pistachio pudding mix

Combine milk and Dream Whip.  Beat on high speed until peaks form.  Add pudding mix and beat until thoroughly mixed.  Spread on outside of cooled cupcakes and refrigerate.

30 Responses to “pistachio cupcakes”


  1. 1 Amanda August 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    These look so pretty and sound super easy to make. Love the pretty green frosting.

  2. 2 seaofcurls August 18, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    This looks delicious 🙂 But what’s “club soda”?

  3. 4 Nikki August 22, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    These look great! I’m so excited to make them…Thanks for posting! Every Christmas I make pistachio pudding cookies so these will be fun to try. If you like these, you should check out my cookie recipe http://bit.ly/a9jKXV

  4. 6 Jess August 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I’m in the middle of day 1 of a new diet and these might do me in!They look so amazing!

  5. 8 shelby August 24, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Hi, these look wonderful..what temp do you bake the cupcakes at and for how long?

  6. 10 beth August 26, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this. This has always been my favorite cake from my grandmother and my mom. We always make the frosting with cool whip though, everything else the same. Even easier!

    Beth

  7. 12 Susan August 31, 2010 at 9:30 am

    I can’t wait to try this combination. I have a similar recipe using a lemon cake and lemon pudding. There could be endless combinations of mixes to test out. yummo

  8. 14 lidia September 6, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    this looks and sounds amazing, i will definitely
    be trying this recipe. just wondering…
    do these have to be refrigerated?

  9. 16 lidia October 4, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    i tried this recipe and loved it! thank you so much for sharing.

  10. 18 Nilmary February 3, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Just made these for my baby shower and they turned out so yummy! My friend and I have been wanting to try these for a while now.

  11. 19 Molly March 6, 2011 at 9:06 am

    what does the club soda do?

  12. 21 Janna March 16, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I just made the pistachio cupcakes and they came out very light and fluffy. I forgot to get club soda so i substituted it for water. I cant wait to frost them and share with everyone yum.

  13. 22 Meg's Everyday Indulgence April 8, 2011 at 10:59 am

    These look incredible! I cannot wait to make them for the next get together we attend. I may have to come up with an excuse to make them sooner!

  14. 23 mbroz July 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    these look so artifical…..

  15. 24 briana77 November 4, 2011 at 10:48 am

    My roommates LOVE this recipe, however, i use a simple cream cheese frosting… its seems like a little too much pistachio otherwise. But all in all, a great, easy recipe!

    • 25 editsweet26 November 11, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      I’m in the middle of cooling them and I had a taste of the frosting- can you say GENIUS!?! I cannot wait to make these next week for my girlfriend’s baby shower!


  1. 1 Pistachio cupcakes | Kirbie's Cravings Trackback on October 10, 2010 at 7:26 am
  2. 2 Pistachio cupcakes | Kirbie Cravings Trackback on October 20, 2010 at 4:16 pm
  3. 3 red velvet valentine cakes « Two Tiny Kitchens Trackback on February 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm
  4. 4 homemade – pistachio cupcakes and a yum greek dinner | appiarius | blog Trackback on February 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm
  5. 5 Pistachio cupcakes - - Network Panda – cPanel Web hosting, PHP, MySQL, unlimited disk space and bandwidth Trackback on March 9, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 416 other followers