chocolate mint brownies

Smooth.  If I had one word to describe these brownies that’s what it would be.  Followed closely by best, as in BEST BROWNIES EVER!!  Some of us (who shall remain nameless) are not even brownie fans, but these are the absolute exception. 

Toward the end of my first pregnancy Mom flew out to help.  She was willing to do anything, prepare and freeze casseroles, shop for baby supplies, I probably could’ve gotten her to paint the whole house hot pink…but all I could think about were these brownies.  I hadn’t had them for years, and I couldn’t get them out of my mind.  (Also could not drink enough limeade…yummmm, crazy pregnancy cravings.)  She baked and I ate.  Even after years of anticipation, they did not disappoint.  Even better than I had remembered.  How often does that happen?

Score: 9.5

Yields 30 small (but satisfyingly rich) squares

Calorie estimate: 233/brownie

brownies

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

4 eggs

1 t vanilla

1 1/2 cups Hershey’s syrup

1 cup flour

Combine ingredients in the listed order. Mix well and bake at 350 25 – 30 minutes (watch closely, may take up to 45 minutes depending on oven, elevation, etc).  A 9×9 pan works well for thick brownies.

frosting

1/2 cup butter

2 cup powdered sugar

1 T water

1 t mint extract

1 drop green food coloring

Again, combine ingredients in listed order and beat with electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Frost brownies after they have cooled completely.

chocolate top

6 T butter

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Melt butter and chocolate chips together in a double broiler or in microwave, stirring frequently. Once smoothly melted and combined, pour over the mint-frosted-brownies and allow at least one hour to set.

20 Responses to “chocolate mint brownies”


  1. 1 Amanda September 13, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    The mint frosting in the middle looks delicious! My husband would die for these so I’ll have to try them sometime.

  2. 2 Audrey F. September 13, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Is that 1 1/2 cups of Hershey’s syrup? These look so good, definitely going to need to make these.

  3. 4 Val September 15, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I want to make these for a school bake sale….do you know if they freeze well?

  4. 7 the urban baker September 15, 2010 at 11:04 am

    pretty. when i make something like this, they never look as clean and pretty! well done!

  5. 8 Heidi September 15, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I’m always on the lookout for a terrific brownie recipe. Not only are yours attractive, they look so complicated – like you spent hours & hours on them and I’m sure they are delicious. Yes, they DO look smooth. Your photos make me want to sink my teeth into one of them. And they sound so easy to throw together. Hershey’s syrup? Wow, I haven’t tried any brownie recipes using that but it sounds simple and moist & chocolately and tasty!

    Thanks for the recipe. I will be trying it soon.

    Heidi

  6. 10 Billy September 21, 2010 at 12:27 am

    oh man these make me so hungry! They look fantastic as does most of your food. Must try these soon.

  7. 11 fattydumpling September 21, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Oh my yum, these look so delicious, I adore mint and chocolate together. I can’t believe that you’re making all of this great stuff with a teeny tiny oven ;]

  8. 12 Jenifer September 24, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Dear Anna,

    I know you don’t know me, but I worked with Ashley for a little over a year at a company in Utah called KLAS. She was in Utah this past weekend for a wedding and we met up with her and she told us about this blog. I am beyond excited and I’ve looked through your recipes and can’t wait to try them. I love your picture and can totally see a resemblance between you and Ashley. I will be checking this blog often! We were really pressuring Ashley to start contributing too. 🙂

    Jenifer

    • 13 Two Tiny Kitchens September 26, 2010 at 12:23 am

      Jenifer, you’re so cute! Wish I got to meet you at Ashley’s wedding… I think we might have you and your coworkers to blame for our food blog addiction. Please keep giving her the pressure to post, haha! Anyway, thanks for the kind words!

  9. 14 Jenifer September 24, 2010 at 10:37 am

    P.S. I’ve tried these brownies before (a very similar recipe anyway from my sister-in-law) and they are DIVINE!

  10. 15 Workchick October 9, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Making these for the second time this morning. They came out absolutely fabulous the first time – everything you want in a mint brownie, BUT the cooking time was a lot longer. At 25 minutes, the brownies were still soupy. I have a 9 by 12 pan, and it takes more like 45 minutes. Other than that, kudos for the great recipe!!

  11. 17 Amy Beaird December 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Brownies made from Hershey’s syrup? You just made my day! I have been trying to find a recipe for home made brownies and have never found a good consistency. They are either hard as a rock or it’s chocolate cake. These seem simple & delicious. I may tweek the frosting, I think I’ll use andes candy and skip the frosting AND chocolate, or at least not add mint to the green layer, just make that a green colored vanilla frosting. I can’t wait to try it!

  12. 18 Alexandra December 10, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    These look awesome! Chocolate and mint together is a real treat! I can’t wait to make these. I have to go to the grocery story tomorrow so I am going to get the necessary ingredients and make them this week, if not tomorrow!


  1. 1 Panko Chicken “nuggets” and Mint Brownies « Well Bread Smarty-Pants Trackback on September 22, 2010 at 11:15 am
  2. 2 12 Days of Christmas Baking… & Brownies « food made simple Trackback on December 22, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 417 other followers