samoa blondies

Holy freakin yum!  I have made these multiple times over the last year in hopes of getting a good picture, and every single time they are gone before I can get the camera out.  Actually, the batter is so, so delicious, that it’s hard enough just to get them in the oven, let alone allow them to cool, cut them into presentable squares, and then wait to partake while I arrange and shoot.  Forget about it.  They really are reminiscent of the girl scout samoa cookie (my absolute fav), but I can honestly say these are better.  And these are SO EASY!  Seriously one bowl, they’re mixed and in the oven in less than 15 minutes.

Samoa Blondies

From The Newlywed Kitchen Cookbook

Yields 9 large blondies (Calorie estimate: 475/serving)

Ingredients

10 tbsp unsalted butter

1 cup dark brown sugar, packed

¼ cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

2 tsp vanilla extract

¼ tsp kosher salt

1 ¼ cup flour

1 ¼ cup sweetened flaked coconut

1 ¼ cup bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips (I used just a cup.)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line and grease an 8×8” baking dish.

In a pan over high heat, heat the butter until it browns and smells nutty. (Keep an eye on it, so it doesn’t burn.) Let the butter cool for a few moments, until just barely warm.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together the browned butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar. With a wooden spoon, mix in the egg, vanilla, and salt. Slowly mix in the flour, coconut, and chocolate chips until blended. Try not to eat too much of the batter.

Pour the batter into the greased baking dish, and smooth the top with a rubber spatula. Bake for 25-30 minutes—do not overbake! The center should still be soft. Let the blondies cool before turning them out onto a cutting board and slicing into squares.

13 Responses to “samoa blondies”


  1. 1 Ashley March 24, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Imma leave work, buy some coconut, and make me some samoa blondies first thing tonight!

  2. 4 lidia March 25, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    making these right now!!!

  3. 5 bianca June 30, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Sheesh girl! I’m going to go into a sugar coma with all these tempting treats you’re showing me! 🙂 Guess I better organize some party’s soon so I can make them all!!!

  4. 6 Stephanie D. July 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    OK – just found your blog today and couldn’t resist making this recipe. I had all the ingredients and I just popped them out of the oven about 30 min ago. Oh-em-gee …. these are fabulous. Just yummy and really quick to make. THX!

  5. 8 Thelma July 15, 2011 at 1:49 am

    They look great, but there was kind of an overbearing vanilla flavor. 2 tsp was way too much for me, next time I would probably use 1 tsp at most.

  6. 9 Laurel July 17, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Hello, I loved the look of these, so made them the other night. I fear I may have done something wrong, because they were just oozing with bubbling butter. They were slick with butter grease, to a level that just didn’t seem right. I thought I followed the recipe, but perhaps I messed up somehow. Do you find these are really really buttery? My daughter loved them nonetheless, and they got eaten quickly, so all is well that ends well! Thanks for your blog. The photography is excellent and makes my mouth water!!

  7. 10 Two Tiny Kitchens July 17, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that they didn’t turn out just right. I am no professional, so I can only tell you that I’ve never personally had that experience. They do have plenty of butter, but maybe you can tell from the pictures that they aren’t as greasy as you describe. I’ve made them several times and they are always delicious. Maybe give them another try some time, I think they’re worth it. And thanks so much for the feedback!!

  8. 11 Sandy August 24, 2011 at 7:25 am

    I was excited to try this recipe based on most of the reviews and I have to say I wasn’t impressed with this recipe. The samoas really didn’t have a great taste and I felt they were very heavy. No one that ate thought they tasted that good and we all felt they were mediocre at best. I have to be honest and say I won’t make the recipe again.

  9. 12 DAN October 14, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I MADE THESE AND THEY WERE AMAZING

  10. 13 Kendall Wolansky March 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    The meek shall inherit the planet earth, and not its mineral rights.
    Time will be the scarcest resource and unless it is managed little else may be managed.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 416 other followers