rocky road brownies

I haven’t been a big brownie fan lately. Not sure exactly why, never quite the right recipe and probably too many of the boxed variety at potlucks, playgroups, and other such gatherings. I’d forgotten what a good brownie really can be. Luckily, my little Sam kept begging this month for marshmallow brownies, so I finally gave in. Man I’m glad I did! Made these for the first time and they were A-MAZING! I know that I describe almost all my food as rich and sweet, but these are near the top of the list. Still, with the walnut addition, the decadence is more than bearable, it’s absolutely divine. Oh, and they’re so pretty too, quite impressive looking if baked in a cute pan. They went too fast, already planning when to make and share these again this week!

Rocky Road Brownies

Yields 16 servings (Calorie estimate: 255/brownie)

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter

1 cup + 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/4 cups miniature marshmallows

1/2 cup chopped and lightly toasted walnuts

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8-inch-square baking pan.

In a heatproof bowl set over (not in) a saucepan of simmering water, combine butter and 1 cup chocolate chips. Heat, stirring occasionally, just until melted, 3 to 5 minutes.

Remove mixture from heat; stir in sugars and salt, then eggs, and finally flour, stirring just until combined. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes.

Remove from oven, and sprinkle with remaining 1/3 cup chocolate chips, then marshmallows and nuts. Turn oven to broil, return to oven until chocolate is shiny and marshmallows are puffed, about 5 minutes. (WATCH VERY CLOSELY!) Cool completely in pan; cut into 16 squares.

9 Responses to “rocky road brownies”


  1. 1 Asami April 11, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I found your blog a few days ago and I love it! It’s wonderful.

    I also live in Sapporo. It must have been hard for you to find ingredients and materials for baking here.

    I am interested in American food and I would like to know what kind of all purpose flour you are using. I am trying many times to make fluffy pancakes like the ones I tasted in US, but it always turns out differently.

    I would really appreciate it if you can let me know! Thanks.

  2. 2 Two Tiny Kitchens April 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Hi Asami! Thank you so much, I wonder how you found us!?
    I have to admit, I’m not pancake expert, but I did find this recipe you may like: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/fluffy-pancakes-2/Detail.aspx.
    The flour I use is just the usual flour you can buy at the grocery store or Seicomart in the bag with lots of yellow flowers. (I think sunflowers?)
    If you make them, let me know how they turn out, good luck!!

  3. 3 Asami April 21, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Thank you for your reply! (and I’m sorry for the late reply) The pancake recipe you showed me looks great.

    Recently, I ordered buttermilk powder online and used it, but they were still not the ones I had in US. I will definitely write how it turns out after I make it, maybe when I have some time off work at GW:)

    The flour from Seicomart…I have never bought one there. I’ll try that too. Thank you.

    On another note, about how I got to know your site, my American female co-worker at SU told me about it and I got very interested and searched it.

    I also hear that you are planning to give a lesson to my students and I really appreciate your help.

    Thanks,
    Asami

  4. 4 bianca June 30, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Ok. Seriously – these look FANTASTIC! Oh my yummy goodness!!!

  5. 5 Laurel July 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    These were fabulous! Thank you for the recipe. (In my oven, the marshmallows toasted much more quickly than 5 min, so I recommend watching very carefully in that last step.)

  6. 6 fir January 17, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    should i set the oven to broil ?

  7. 8 fir January 17, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    tq so much for your reply 🙂 cant wait to make this !!

  8. 9 fir February 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    did u use unsalted butter ?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 416 other followers